Term 1 Reflection

My idea of what makes a writer has changed a bit since the start of term as we have been doing so much writing during class. While, I still don’t really feel like a writer, because I don’t enjoy writing, I don’t think you have to be a published author. Just someone who is good at writing and enjoys doing it.

The aspect/topic from this term that I have most enjoyed was the planning of writing tasks and our short stories. I like brainstorming, making plans and writing outlines because you don’t have to be to specific and detailed, and you can still change things and there aren’t any limitations (you don’t have to edit).

The activities that I think were the most effective in developing my writing were research tasks, such as the fantasy research task, because they are direct information/ instructions on what something is or what you need to do, which I find helpful to refer back to, more so than examples.

The activities that I think were the least effective in developing my writing were spontaneous writing tasks such as the extended metaphors because personally I am really bad at thinking off the top of my head.

Leave a Reply

