Introduction to Poetry

I am quite comfortable with studying poetry as I did it in Term 1 and I thoroughly enjoyed reading and analysing poetry. I am also fairly familiar with the poetic devices (although not as much the poetry forms). However, I do not so much enjoy writing poetry because I prefer writing structured pieces of work and poetry is often vague in expectations and limitations.

I don’t really have a current conception of poetry as a genre because it is so unlimited. Poetry can be any length, consistent or inconsistent, meaningful or meaningless, and structured or unstructured. So I think what sets poetry apart from other literature is shorter lines and it is often mire intense.

I have written some poetry before although not a lot, and it was usually in primary school so it did not have much meaning or depth. My favourite prose style is spoken word although I have not written much of it.

Leave a Reply

